Making Lasting Memories

Posted: May 10, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

Certain events that happen in our lives can cause a memory that we end up remembering for the rest of our lives.

We have our good memories, and of course we have our bad memories as well.

But what makes any particular event so special that it becomes a memory? One that we cherish whenever we think about it and dream like it was only yesterday that it happened?

My own family can tell you that I have a steel-trap memory. I recall things that happened to me and my family as far back as three decades ago, and I’m not really “all that old”. They are totally fascinated that I recall specific events that happened with them, with me. I can remember what was said, what they were doing, and even sometimes what they were wearing. They tease me sometimes when they say that they hate my brain.

But what is it that causes “anything” to become “something”? Each and every day, our brains imprint certain things that we can remember. And other things that happen we don’t really focus on and therefore we don’t pay too much attention to it.

We remember a lot because we document things. We have photographs and video that was recording during certain times. And that causes our minds to reflect on those times and help us remember what we were doing at that exact moment. Momentos are a wonderful thing in my book.

Its wildly fascinating for others who seem to believe that their memory is not as good as others. We commonly joke if we had allowed our brains to not specifically take note of something when others have and we forget. Usually the standard is, “I don’t know. I’ve slept since then.”

I use that phrase all of the time if someone is talking to me and I do not recall what it is they are talking about.

We remember certain things. Our first kiss, our first date, our first car. The first time we bought a home. Our children being born. All of these things that happened in our lifetime that brought us nothing but complete joy. We are fixed with a multitude of happy feelings whenever we go through these experiences and we tend to remember them forever.

I have to admit that I just recently had one of these happy moments earlier today. I had been corresponding through e-mail with a female colleague for about two years. But that changed because at 1:28 AM, my cell phone rang. Scared the crap out of me, really. And it was her calling to say hello. I remember the time, because my brain is cool like that.

Two years and this is the first time we had ever actually spoken to one another. For me, it definitely was a moment in the making for a lasting memory.

I’ve even had another colleague call me for the first time ever several months ago, and we had been corresponding for even longer than two years. Try nearly ten!

I remember exactly what I was doing when I first received correspondence from my new friend that I focused and dedicated an early post on. I remember the date, I remember what was said, and I remember what I was doing at the time when I saw that I had a response.

And I cannot forget my small trip to Houston which happened a few weekends ago. Most of that is still fresh in my mind!

To me, these are happy moments. Glorious moments that filled my heart with love and joy. Something that is going to stay with me for the rest of my life. Just being able to stop and think back and then hear their voices in my mind. So kind and gentle and comforting.

And like I said, we have our “bad memories”.

I remember what I was doing when I heard that my mother had passed away from cancer. I remember what was going on in my mind when I went to the funeral. I remember what I said to my best friend at the time when I moved away to another state when I was nine years old. Sad memories, bad memories.

But I think that the world does concentrate on the bad stuff far too much than they should. With the good, will come the bad. But we do not have to dwell and focus on it all of the time.

But these past few memories that were made now in 2011, almost seem like small personal victories. I’m so very glad that they happened.

What kind of awesome, wonderful memories do you have? What exactly happened that caused you so much joy that you wanted to run up to the tallest mountain and shout to the world that this had happened to you and you would tell anyone who would stop and listen to your story?

On the previous note of having momentos, I too have them. Photographs, saved e-mails from special people. Video tape galore. I can re-visit that at any time I choose to.

This whole entry may not make a lot of sense, but I’m just so thrilled to have made this new lifetime memory. And yes, I am on top of my mountain and sharing it with you, the reader.

I think that our lives would be lost if we didn’t have our memories. How else would we know where we came from or where we are going?

Leave a Reply

