Where Your Credit Is Due

Posted: August 17, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

“I just open doors…you take the journey my friend.”~ Dr. Froth
 
That one small sentence that was told to me actually spoke volumes.
 
We were discussing how my blog has evolved and how it had came into existence. I humbly had thanked him for making me think and that was his response.
 
I do believe in the saying of giving credit where it is due, but he is also right in what he had said.
 
The influences of others around us are very powerful. We can either give credit (or give blame) towards others in our lives in whatever changes may come from those influences. However, whether we give credit or blame, we must also give ourselves the same. Because we are solely responsible for our own decisions.
 
I could tell you not to buy a certain product and give you reasons why I am telling you why not. And your life could be so much easier for it. Because you took my advice, you probably are grateful and most likely would tell me how thankful you are. But you also need to thank yourself because you made the decision on your own not to buy that product.
 
Most certainly, many doors open to us in life on a daily basis. Others may call it a crossroads. It is that point in life, in that very moment where we make a decision of where to go. Do we go through the doors or not? Do we turn left instead of right or stay straight ahead? Whatever we do, we have chosen to do that on our own. A lot of life changing decisions may come through influence of others but it is not the others who make that decision for us. We did it ourselves!
 
Do not take what I am saying wrong. I am not saying that you are allowed to walk around with a swollen ego because you are thankful towards yourself. I am saying understand it is you alone who made the decision in the first place.
 
I probably won’t be sending Dr. Froth flowers as a gesture of thankfulness. He would probably kick my ass for that! And I definitely wouldn’t be so vain as to send some to myself. But I will be very clear that I actually made the decision to start a blog on my own.
 
Thanking or blaming others is just what comes natural after a decision has been made and the consequences have been rendered and dealt with.
 
All of that aside, I still believe it to be a shame that the simple two words of “thank you” are not spoken enough in this world. I recall when I was a teenager that my step-mother would ‘force’ me and my brother to sit down at the table and write out “Thank you notes” after the beginning of each January. They were thank you notes to everyone who had given us gifts for Christmas. It really wasn’t a very long list. But what it did do was cut out the fun time in life because “we HAD” to do it. It is most certainly one of the things that I am grateful for having her do, was to learn the power of “thank you”. It most certainly was an important lesson in life I had learned.
 
From that point on, the transaction is complete. I received a gift, I thanked them, and now that person feels happy and blessed because I did stop to tell them thank you.
 
Not to say thank you during certain times just makes you come off greedy, selfish, and very undeserving. That is why I don’t understand why people won’t stop for a fraction of a second to say it. Go ahead, try saying it to yourself…. “thank you”. Didn’t take long did it??
 
Giving credit probably needs to happen a lot more in this day and age. I just don’t see it happening. Or maybe I am just blind to it.
 
Of course we all have our own ways of communicating and expressing ourselves. Some people write thank you notes, other people give gifts in return, and so on. But I feel that it is a very important thing to learn to say to others.
 
Then we must thank ourselves for making that decision to go through that door. If we did, and we came out clean on the other side? Then it is a fantastic feeling.
 
So remember, when you thank someone for something. You also have yourself to thank.
 
 

Leave a Reply

