Going Beyond Skin Deep

Posted: August 22, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

Beauty is a characteristic of a person that provides a perceptual experience of pleasure, meaning, or satisfaction.

And I might as well add that beauty is also defined through the eyes of the beholder. What one person can define as beautiful may not be what another person would define it.

Is beauty only skin deep? Well, physical beauty is. We grow old, get wrinkles, our hair and teeth fall out. But so what? This doesn’t mean that once these things begin to happen to us that we cease to be beautiful! That only means that we are going through the entire cycle of life.

But there are other things that make people beautiful. And it is frustrating for me personally, that so many fail to see that. There is such thing as “inner beauty”. But it does not seem to make a bit of difference in this society today. It seems as if the infatuation with beauty is only that physical beauty. And unfortunately, others are influenced by that entire way of thinking. Just because a woman is not a 36-24-36, causes so many women to fall into the traps of insecurity and the feelings of being ugly and never beautiful.

The same for men. Just because we don’t have abs of steel and fully loaded arms of biceps that could choke a horse, doesn’t necessarily mean that men are not beautiful either.

So it becomes extremely frustrating when I tell a woman who I think is beautiful and everything just falls apart for them. Why? Because for whatever reason she has felt that she is not meeting the standards of beauty. What they are not hearing from me is that I am telling them that there is a specific characteristic about them that I find genuinely attractive. So I am drawn to it, and therefore “I” believe that woman is beautiful.

I got laughed at and ridiculed a while ago because I was amongst other guys and they were talking about the last person they had kissed. When I had disclosed the person with whom I last shared any kind of kiss with, I was totally mocked because these men were not thinking of her as beautiful. Simply because she did not meet their arrogant standards of physical beauty. But I didn’t care.

Let’s just set aside for the moment that I am just the kind of person who is affectionate, but I found something within this woman attractive. And it had nothing to do with her bra or waist size or how she potentially would look in a bikini. And they could not understand that.

If I say to you, “You are a beautiful person”… then you best believe that I totally mean it and have all beliefs and faith in my words that they are true, to me. And I am not setting out to gain something by flattery or just trying to make your mood better. What I have said, I have meant.

It has gone on far long enough that OTHERS are the ones who define what beautiful is, and my own opinion means nothing. My opinion does mean something, and it should to you if I am comfortable enough talking to you and expressing it. Naturally as a human being you have the right to disagree. But do you disagree because OTHERS have said that you are NOT beautiful and are instead ugly? Or is it some other kind of insecurity that plagues you to the point that it forces you to just roll your eyes at me?

I honestly do not care if others disagree. But I will stand behind those who would dare to agree. We should learn to love ourselves and not be so wildly influenced by the mottos of other persons.

Whether it is on the outside or on the inside, that characteristic remains within. And that is what draws me to my beliefs. Many people have called me “sweet, nice, thoughtful” and other things. My response is always the same: Love me or leave me.

If you are being told by someone else that you are not beautiful, because you don’t have the long flowing hair, fake boobs and everything else or because you do not have those six-pack abs… then LOVE yourself and LEAVE them. Focus less on their negativity.

I could go on forever explaining how you are so wonderfully beautiful deep down inside, and I don’t care if you do not look like “the others like in Hollywood”. Because I will never allow Hollywood to shape and mold my own definitions and opinions on what I find pleasurable.

So be proud of yourself. Love yourself because even if Hollywood nor the rest of the world just never thinks you can cut it to be beautiful, there’s always going to be that one person whom you never see, that will disagree with them all.

 

 

Leave a Reply

