Getting Trapped With A Trapp

Posted: August 29, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

“We live by our imagination, our admirations, and our sentiments.”~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

Outside of the fact that I had one really great night with SIX MINUTE CENTURY, I was also spending the weekend with romance author, Jessica Trapp, and her family.

I had met her in April of this year, when I went to Houston the first time to see SIX MINUTE CENTURY. As I said in my previous post, “Music & Books”. Jessica Trapp takes up the “book” end of the deal.

But we had met in a public place for a few hours at a shopping mall. Which was for safety for all who were involved. And believe it or not, I was glad it was like that for the first time.

This past weekend though… I would be spending my time with her and her family as she had invited me to stay with her for those days. We had such a great time back in April just hanging out, talking, getting to know one another personally, that she really felt that she wanted to cross paths again. This was her opportunity of sorts. As I was on the verge of not being able to go at all, after spending my very last dime and then come to find out I had no place to stay. Jessica was my savior!!! She offered her home for me to stay in during the time that I was going to be there.

As the days rolled on, and it was getting closer and closer and closer to showing up in Houston, I felt a bit nervous. And I could not figure out why. I had met her before- so why should I be nervous?? I think it was because of the fact that I had only met with her for a few hours. Now I was about to spend several days & nights in her home. Talk about getting the behind-the-scenes look on someone that you love and admire!! It is quite daunting.

What was I going to do or say? I hadn’t really had a chance to meet her family either. What was I going to say to them??

When I arrived and I was finally greeted by Jessica, things that I had been worried about just went out the window.

There was a lot of conversation. Plenty of personal and yet unique conversation. More and more with each turn, getting to know more about the area in which Jessica lived in, the way she grew up, her experiences. I found it all interesting. Although she probably thought that I was bored. That possible thought couldn’t be any farther from the truth. And I hope that she is not thinking that now that I have returned home.

Her family took me to Kemah Park to see Black Dog, a Led Zeppelin tribute band. It was really a lot of fun. The following day, I went shopping and ran through several different bookstores and had lunch before I was going to be picked up to go to the SIX MINUTE CENTURY show.

After all of that, I had wanted to go to the zoo. But the summer heat is just as bad in Houston as it is here. So instead I went along with the family to the John P. McGovern Museum of Health and Medical Science. Inside, there was a STAR WARS exhibit. And that was just totally awesome! All of those props that were used in all six movies. Plus costumes and wardrobe.

Lots of laughs were shared. I found Jessica’s husband to have quite the sense of humor as he would come up with one-liners from out of thin air it had seemed. Jessica’s son was able to hold conversations and you wouldn’t have believed he was as young as he was because he was able to keep the conversation in a higher level of intelligence than others his age.

Hanging out with Jessica was something that I had hoped I could do. And now that I have done it, I hope that I can do it again.

We had stayed in touch since our first meeting. She had always asked me for a hug. Apparently she believes that I give good hugs. So she wanted hugs from me. I hope that she was able to be satisfied with the scores of hugs and other affectionate gestures.

When the day came for me to return home. I found myself in a position where I had a lot of trouble facing the fact that I had to leave. With having a wonderful and fun night with SIX MINUTE CENTURY, and the remainder of the weekend with Jessica Trapp, it was so difficult for me to want to leave. In fact, I never had that feeling that I wanted to leave at all in the first place. I wanted to stay there.

There was nothing more important in the world than staying there. But I knew that I could not this time. But I know that there will be other times to go because I know that SIX MINUTE CENTURY will be playing again soon. Probably in November.

I had to remind Jessica that I was coming back then. Well, to be honest, she kept asking if that was my plan. But of course. I just simply had so much trouble because I couldn’t see any reason why I should not be in Houston. Maybe that’s something that I can work on or figure out.

The look on Jessica’s face when she departed from me that last time during my visit damn near killed me. I know now that she is only worried about me, and that she cares. But as I said, maybe something will come along and I will be able to get to  Houston a lot sooner and faster and I would be able to visit again. On both sides of the “Music & Books”.

But I hope that she reads this and finds out just how wonderful she is. And how grateful I am for everything that she and her family had done for me. Including her mother to sew up LK#1 for me!! Talk about “Saved In Time”.

Still though, I am honored and thankful. And I am so glad she’s around.

Jessica’s website is on the left. So go ahead and “Get Trapped In A Book!”. I’ve read them. Even as a guy, I enjoyed them. Hopefully you will too!!

 

Comments
  1. jamichka says:

    This blog post makes me happy. ♥

Leave a Reply

