Cruise Bound!!!

Posted: October 13, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

“I’ll be 65 in September and I work as much as I want to, take cruises with Kay, relax with my family, do everything in moderation, because I want to enjoy my life.”~ Frankie Avalon

Well, I hope Frankie Avalon was able to do just that……

After the horrendous meeting that took place this afternoon, I was engaged in conversation with a close neighbor who seems to have adopted me as “her son”. (I have plenty of grandparents here that have “adopted me”…. trust me.)

Just last week, she went on a cruise to Cozumel with someone she has been friends with for over 50 years. The cruise was not necessarily a pleasure trip as the friend of hers was there to teach a class. But I think that the neighbor was there to relax and enjoy.

She’s come back with a lot of wonderful and fun stories. I remember the day that they left to go to port. Her friend told me, “I’m sorry we’re not able to take you. The boat is completely full. But we’ll bring you back a nice looking señorita from Cozumel.”

I had to laugh. But I was also happy for my neighbor. My neighbor though, she is still on a high, similar to the ones I get when I go see SIX MINUTE CENTURY in Houston.

She brought back a few gifts. A couple of keychains, some postcards and what not. I got something to put on my head. It’s really neat. These bandanas are pretty cool.

Well, she tells me that the same friend of hers is going to be doing a few more cruises like she just returned home from. Of course, the friend will be teaching her class while on board. But the neighbor turned around and said something to me that I just was not expecting at all.

She told me “Next year, we’re gonna work very hard to put you on that boat. We’re going to call the cruise line and make sure that they have an accessible room for you to get on the boat.”

I wasn’t taking her seriously at that point. She had just told someone else that if we all saved our pennies, that we could get on board on one of the cruises that will happen in November of 2012. It would cost us… $400.

Not bad considering that I spent over $6,000 on a two week long cruise throughout the Atlantic for a honeymoon that never happened and lost it all because the relationship was terminated. $400 isn’t really that bad. Considering the stories that we keep hearing from her that everything on that boat was free (all except for soft drinks and liquor.)

Today though she continued the conversation by saying, “I’m gonna get you on that ship, boy! I’ll have someone put it on their credit card and you can pay them back each month as much as you can afford. Or even better, I’ll give up MY spot on the ship so that you can go.”

She’s serious. VERY serious.

Her room that she had? I looked it up online: $2,300. Fantastic view of the ocean and a stellar deck just off the room. Gorgeous!!

I was stunned. I’m sure that her friend would agree and she would help to make it happen as well.

I’ve never been on a cruise before. I’ve been fishing in the Gulf of Mexico- just off the coast of Galveston, but never on a cruise ship.

And I’ve never been to Mexico either. I understand that she got on board with just a certified indentification and her birth certificate. The question of whether or not to obtain a passport is up in the air still. I don’t know how these things work at all!

I’ve only been out of the United States once. And that was a quick road trip into Ontario, Canada. We drove for about 90 km and stopped at a McDonald’s, then came right back. We were visiting family in Michigan at the time.

I have to tell you though, I am TOTALLY excited. I know that this neighbor is flat-out serious about this. She’s going to do everything she can to make sure I get on this cruise.

Granted it will be more than a year from now, but still. Holy crow balls!!!

So yeah, totally pumped and totally excited. This is most likely going to be an experience that I will never forget. Anyone wanna come with me?!?

Leave a Reply

