When Reality Strikes

Posted: December 11, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

“Whatever affects one directly, affects all indirectly. I can never be what I ought to be until you are what you ought to be. This is the interrelated structure of reality.”~ Martin Luther King, Jr.
 
Three people were arrested and charged with murder in Alabama in the last week. The tale of the murder is very bloody and horrific.
 
But we hear about these kinds of stories all of the time in the news and on the Internet. So then why am I talking about a crime that happened in a place that I have never been to before? 
 
Reason: One of my friends lives there. It has become personal.
 
We hear about crimes happening all of the time. A murder happening somewhere in the country or something else that was so awful that it spread to nationwide news. Just in the past few days, Virginia Tech had another school shooting. It was not as tragic as the one several years ago, but it was in the news.
 
Still, it surrounds us. But we have become numb to the fact that these crimes are happening. Why? Because it was not something that was personal.
 
But it is personal to those who are involved.
 
This murder in Alabama happened, and three are in jail and awaiting court in the morning as I am told. The person who seems to have been responsible for the crime, is the best friend of someone whom I am friends with.
 
Nobody honestly pays attention, until some how it is related to you personally. Like I said, I wasn’t there. But that’s where my friend lives. And she’s most likely filled with the anguish of confusion, doubt, disbelief, and everything else that you can think of. Yet I don’t want to put words into her mouth or force different emotions upon her. The bottom line is that this cold reality has struck her and she is dealing with it. I wished I could help her.
 
The three who were arrested admitted to the crime. And now my friend believes that the one with whom she was close to, that is involved, won’t becoming back. As she said in her own words on the telephone with me just moments ago, “It’s like a death in the family.”
 
But there’s a lot of people that I am sure that has gone to her and offered their help. Being swarmed by people with promises of “if you ever need anything”, although helpful at times, probably is not what she is going to be needing from me as her friend.
 
Then again, I do not know exactly what she needs from me at this point. But whatever it is, I am confident that she will seek me out for it, and I will be there to the best of my own abilities to be there for her in that time.
 
The person who allegedly committed this crime was someone that she knew most intimately and personally. Spending time together with one another’s families. Being in one another’s homes and everything. I cannot imagine nor would I pretend to imagine just how lost and empty she feels right now. Nor this person’s mother and his family. Nor even the family of the victim. I can’t think of what ALL people involved in this horrible, horrible event are going through at the moment.
 
But my point is this: We tend to not give much of what we hear a second thought. But that all changes when things happen that hit so close to home. Especially if it directly hits home.
 
I find it amazing that’s how life will sometimes work.
 
I’ve not had this kind of life experience before. And even though I am not there, and I am not involved first-hand, it has been something that has struck me as well. Because I know that my friend is hurting badly right now.
 
Yet I hope that soon, I will be able to be there for my friend in the exact and precise way that she needs in order to help her get through this. I do not know what that will be. I will have to cross that bridge when I get to it.
 
 
Comments
  1. jamichka says:

    Thank you, JoJo. You’re one of the best friends I could ever ask for. I appreciate your words so much. I’m dealing with it in bits and pieces, and I am so thankful to have friends I CAN trust and count on in this time. ♥

Leave a Reply

