First Sledge Hockey Tournament

Posted: April 16, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

Concentration and mental toughness are the margins of victory.”~ Bill Russell

I can finally say that I have some experience playing sledge hockey at a much higher level than ever before. This past weekend, I made the difficult decision to go ahead and go out of town to play at the 2012 USA Hockey Disabled Festival in a tournament with players from both my team and the team from Houston put together as one rowdy bunch on the ice.

It was a break that I was so desperately needing, considering the month I’ve gone through. And even though I did have so much fun playing in the tournament, I cannot escape the realities of life and human existence.

But I have that experience and I am glad. I believe that from the tough and difficult weekend of playing the game, we did pretty good!!

The team ended up had a record in the tournament of 3-3 and received 3rd place. And when you consider that the combination of people of two teams who have never practiced together, never played together, and barely knew one another, never played in any kind of tournament before, and learned with every game that we played and we end up winning 3rd place? That’s pretty awesome!!!

As you can imagine, I am exhausted from it all. But so happy. I’m not sure what is in store for us as far as awards are concerned. I’m told that the people holding the tournament ordered whatever it was they were going to give as awards were back ordered. I’m pretty excited about it.

There is talk about possibly going to next year’s tournament in Philadelphia. Someone estimated that it would cost us about $8,000 to do it. So they want fundraising like mad until then.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

