The Reign of Rude

Posted: May 16, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

“Because I remember, I despair. Because I remember, I have the duty to reject despair.”~Elie Wiesel
 
Ladies and gentlemen! Subscribers, followers, and readers…. here we go again!!
 
What day is it? Yep! Food Pantry Day.
 
Most of our usual suspects were there. One of the worst offenders was ironically not there. But the rest of them were.
 
One had even turned so greedy that when she helped out earlier in the morning to put everything in place after bringing it home, she came back in the afternoon and dared to try to go for a second round.
 
I’m telling you, these residents have got some SERIOUS issues!!
 
But today, we had a new player in the drama that is the avarice of Food Pantry Day. One who has been unfortunately burning her own bridges with her neighbors and other residents. I had forgotten just how much of a problem a person could have with her.
 
It is up to the social worker and her decisions on whether or not someone can go ahead and get their turn in early. Commonly, she’s been allowing those who carry heavy boxes of food in to take their turn first before the rest of the crowd. And it is just her way of saying “thank you” for all of their help and assistance.
 
I was surprised when I “showed up for duty” this afternoon that one of the offenders had helped and therefore our poor social worker was puzzled as to why she was back.
 
Playing dumb like you don’t understand English……. for the win!!!!
 
But this new player into today’s BS drama…. let’s just say that a lot of people believe that we can do without. And that’s a real sad thing to say or even believe.
 
Every time I called someone ELSE to go into the Food Pantry, there was always commentary. There was always some kind of remark about how SHE NEEDED to be next in line. And every time she was not… I got to hear about it.
 
The premise is nothing new, just the characters.
 
And then I started to get it from another resident, but I did not find their remarks as abrasive. So I felt comfortable teasing back that I had control over everything and if they kept it up, I’d never call their name.
 
So then our offender from hell just turned up the heat.
 
I finally just looked to see if I could find her name in the lottery box. And I could not. I was absolutely stunned that it was not in the box, and she’s got the nerve to crawl up and down my back??
 
Whiskey. Tango. Foxtrot. Over!!
 
I told the social worker the situation about how that resident’s name was not there in the box. I wondered if I should have just left her to suffer the consequences of her actions, or bring it to her attention and go from there.
 
So I pulled out all of the pieces of paper and spread them out on the table before me. Then I still could not find her name. At that point, I called her over to me.
 
I asked her, “Do you see your name anywhere?”. Then without hesitation, the woman became infuriated by the fact that the piece of paper that her had name on it was next to the box haphazardly, and was nowhere near being inside the box.
 
I simply didn’t see it there. Countless minutes of useless agitation and there she is accusing me of pulling her name out of the box so that I did not have to call her name to go into the Food Pantry. And I had done all of this on purpose to hurt her.
 
Ohhhhhhhhhhh the sore humanity of it all!!
 
So then I hear her scream, “That’s just wrong! I’M NEXT!!”.
 
Umm, no you are NOT!! I put her name back in the box and shook the demons out of it and pulled a name, that was yet again still not hers.
 
Then she asked if she was next. And I told her with a straight face that she was not. And that caused more “Oh Woe Is Me” crap. So I was so happy that she was actually (and legitimately) the next person after that to go in. Only to get rid of her.
 
I don’t play favorites and I never will. It is a different circumstance if the social worker makes a plea to send someone in ahead of the crowd, due to whatever reason. I just go by what she says.
 
Meanwhile, out in the hallway was roaming Miss “I Don’t Speak English”.. getting more and more concerned as I never called her name. I didn’t have to. She had her turn this morning when she helped out.
 
And then I would eventually “leave my post” and have the box unattended. And she went through it to see that there were no more papers in it. By that time there were only three people left and I pulled them out in no particular order and knew who was first, second, and third.
 
After that (in broken English… more like shattered), she asked me why her name was not in the box. I did my best to speak in smaller words saying that she had her turn in the morning.
 
She ignored me.
 
She then would see a resident hanging around the door of the Food Pantry and when that woman immediately strolled in, our little greedy one decided to park it there. She’s not stupid by any stretch of the imagination.
 
The real person that would be next would be invaded upon and then it was time to RING THE BELL!!!
 
Our greedy one rolled inside and words were spoken by the one whom she had transgressed against.
 
Then in an effort of wanting peace, she retreated her anger and the two left standing in line just moved out of the way and allowed her inside. She would end up coming out with just a few cans of food and maybe a couple bags of beans. Nothing major. Its not like she broke the bank or anything. Everyone gets the same thing. Unless you recall the strawberry flavored milk debacle in a previous blog post.
 
After the last two went in, I came straight home.
 
Luckily I didn’t snap. But I am sure exhausted.
 
I’m irritated by the fact that people have the guts to accuse me of doing things that I never did. I can see how maybe she might have felt that way. However, I never got the benefit of the doubt. What she saw (or thought what had happened) was automatically LAW??
 
Screw that.
 
It’s over for today, and this month. And people snicker when I call it “my time of the month”. I wonder if they actually get it or not. Because one thing is for sure, the residents here sure don’t.
 
I just wanted to come home and scream. People are most likely lucky I didn’t do that either. I’m sure the police would have been alerted.
 
UGH!!
 
I think I'm Gonna Scream
 
 
 
 

Leave a Reply

