Using A Daily Oxygen Mask

Posted: May 28, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

Lead the life that will make you kindly and friendly to everyone about you, and you will be surprised what a happy life you will lead~ Charles M. Schwab 

If you have ever flown on an airplane before, you know how they always seem to take their time going through all of the safety procedures.

But some people actually fail to either hear or understand why they instruct you to place the oxygen mask upon yourself before administering one to a child or someone who is needing someone else to do it for them.

I’ve spoken to plenty of parents who get frustrated and downright angry and they say, “I’ll put it on my child before I will put it on myself. I’ll let myself die from lack of oxygen before I let my child die!”.

Well, that does seem noble. And even though I am not a parent myself, I can understand why they would want to help and protect their child.

There is a reason why they say to give yourself the oxygen mask before trying to help someone else. Because if there comes a situation where neither one of you can breathe… then how can you help your child? YOU need to be able to breathe first, otherwise you become useless in helping that child.

Now, I’m not trying to cheese off anyone but if you stop and think about it… it is all true. You need to help yourself before you can help others.

The same application can be used in daily life. If it seems to be hitting the fan and you want to help others, you need to make sure that you are okay and able to handle whatever situation it is that causes you the desire or need to help someone else.

It becomes wise to make sure that you have the strength and fortitude to help someone, if that is what you are wanting to do. If you are not happy, how in the world can you possibly cause someone else to be happy?

Because of our imperfect nature, we all have problems, faults, issues, and what not. And I could be the first person to tell you that it is a great feeling knowing that you have the ability to be able to help others in their times of crisis. I’ve written about it so many times before in previous blog posts about how good of a job I can help others by simply listening. So many that it could seem like to the reader that I am boasting and/or bragging.

However, how can I personally expect to be helpful to someone else if I am not happy?

Ladies & gentlemen, readers and subscribers… lately, I haven’t been happy. And I’ve almost come to the point where I have shut myself off to those who are so used to me just simply being there and offering a salutation or sentiment for the sake of getting them to either laugh or smile. I do feel bad about not being there, but I would would have to put on the oxygen mask of life upon myself before I can help anyone else.

My younger brother and his family are coming soon here from Europe to be with my sister and her family. And I personally am getting excited to see them again. From that point, myself and my brother and sister and their families will leave out of town for about a week. And then when my brother and his family leave to go visit my parents, I will be leaving my own way to go to Houston that weekend to see SIX MINUTE CENTURY perform.

It is my intention that at the time I am gone away from home, that I will be doing a lot of self-reflection on all of the issues that have been causing me to be unhappy. And I will also take that time to figure out what I am going to do about it so that I am once again a happier person.

I will be with family, and I believe that to be a good thing. Even if things get rough with them (because we all sometimes have problems with family), I am even more thrilled to know that I will be able to hang out with people who have always caused my worries to disappear, even for a little while. It will most likely be so good to hang out with Dr. Froth and his wife again, among the rest of the band for one night and those in the band’s circle. Looking back at each time I have done so, I can honestly say that during those times I have never had a care in the world. And I was able to just calm down and enjoy myself. The worries of the world will just have to wait until I get home.

And so that is my personal relation to the content of this blog. I know that soon I will be able to have the time to fix what is wrong and begin to do better of what is right. And after that, I can be available for those who have used my shoulder to cry on before so that they could do it again- if necessary.

Remember, helping others is always a good thing. Being able to fix yourself before you can fix the problems of the world must come first because if you don’t, your efforts will become futile.

 

 

Leave a Reply

