Well Of Souls: Sorrow My Name

Posted: October 2, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

WELL OF SOULS 

ALBUM: SORROW MY NAME

YEAR: 2012

BRAINTICKET RECORDS

John Calvin-Vocals

John (O.J.) Morris-  Lead & Rythym Guitar

Tim Wayne- Lead & Rythym Guitar

Michael “Dr. Froth” Millsap-Bass Guitar

 

Doom is here!

Yesterday I received the pre-order of the brand new album from Well Of Souls.

I was really excited about it. I didn’t waste any time to put the CD in and play it.

Although I must say that this is a new genre for me. I don’t recall listening to a lot of what is considered “doom metal”. Or it could be that I just never thought about calling it that.

I was really impressed with their show back in August. I really believed in John Calvin’s stage presence. So convincing and it gripped at me. So listening to the new album, I knew that his pure vocal style would reach out again and twist at the strings of my soul to bend.

There are some really awesome pieces to this album. I think that so far, that I’m really into songs like The Pain’s Not Forgotten, Forsaken, and Sorrow My Name.

I believe that this album actually got me to open my eyes to the wide variety of music that is out in the world. Not everything that I do listen to requires a lot of hair spray, shredded jeans, and screaming vocals. As most people tend to believe.

Well Of Souls has a sound on their new album that convinces me that their shit is together. I got to hang out with these guys and just by the way they talked, I could tell that they were all serious about the band and their music. And I find that to be one of the greatest things that many bands are missing today. To other bands, its just something that they do. They have no passion, and only look forward to the paycheck at the end of the night when they play a live show.

But I cannot get enough of The Pain’s Not Forgotten. Even within the privacy and comforts of my own home, I feel like throwing the horns into the air and swaying the Bic lighter back and forth. And then switch into wanting to jump off of my own furniture. However, I do not need to miss a future show because I broke my neck or something.

Throughout the first time that I listened to the album, I had several people calling me on the telephone, wondering what in the world was going on. I did honestly have the volume up so high that probably parts of northern Mexico could hear it.

Probably the most common question I got from people either knocking on my door or calling me was “Who Died?” and I cannot help but find that funny.

Like I said, its not something that I commonly have a lot of knowledge with. But I am so very glad that I got to see them play live so I could see just what kind of an effect their music has on people, including the effect that they would have on me.

I’m totally impressed!!!

And what makes it a whole lot better is that when I opened the CD case, I found it autographed by the entire band. To which I am humbled and thankful that they did that for me.

I am glad that I was able to expand inside my own mind. The album is officially release date is on the 9th of October.

 http://www.wellofsoulsband.com

Leave a Reply

