Megabus

Posted: November 11, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

“Being sober on a bus is, like, totally different than being drunk on a bus.”~ Ozzy Osbourne

I think that I am one of those few people that enjoy trying new things. Especially if there seems to be an element of fun and enjoyment that would last throughout a lifetime.

My most recent trip to see SIX MINUTE CENTURY led me to take another path on the same journey.

I was rather used to using KBL to get to Houston, but when it came time to purchase my bus ticket it was a whole new ball game that nearly swept the carpet out from under me.

KBL was what I was used to. The three hour ride (one way) was also what I was used to. But I would come to find out that KBL was no longer operating starting the 1st of November. But I was referred to something called megabus.com.

Finding out where they operated here in town was a pain in the ass. But it would have a few small advantages.

I think that it is often unnerving or scary when you are about to embark on something that is unfamiliar to you, but once you are able to figure things out you began to relax and just go with the flow. Finding this “bus station” to be in a small parking lot in between a parking garage and an apartment complex was a bit unusual. It felt more like it was operating in an alley way.

But as I said, it had advantages. Why? Because it was smack in the middle of the campus of UT. When you have several dozens of coeds walking around- it leaves plenty of opportunity to “see the sights” if you know what I mean?

I was shocked to find out that these were double decker buses. Probably because I had never been on one before. I could tell that this was going to be a fascinating ride.

The bus stands at a massive 13 feet 2 inches (4.01 meters) tall. Someone had questioned that it looked top-heavy, but the employees assured that there was a bunch of weight at the bottom of the bus due to equipment and luggage and whatever else. Being a double decker, it would have to be at least that tall.

Much like any other bus that I have been on, they crunched rows of seats together to make room for the wheelchair, much like an accordion. And when I got settled in, I would surrounded by far more than I would ever realize that could be possible on a bus. 

I literally began to believe that I was on the edge of luxury.

Each individual seat had its own seat belt. I never saw this with Greyhound or KBL or any other bus that I had been on. Now I know that for passengers with wheelchairs, there are seat belts that they offer. But I’ve never seen it for every single seat on board.

It also had individual air condition vent units for each passenger. There were also power outlets, and it offered FREE Wi-Fi.

The strangest thing of all were the front rows of seat that were backwards, to accommodate to the tables that were built in. Never in a million rides would I imagine that tables would be available for mass transportation buses. But there they were.

I laughed because at the front of the bus was a flat screen television. And the bus driver clicked a few buttons and up came a safety procedure video for the bus and a quick introduction on how to use the Wi-Fi services. I had only seen that kind of stuff on an airplane. But now they have them in buses too.

The best part of megabus.com was the fact that the entire journey ROUND TRIP, only cost $5.00 each way, with a 50 cent fee. Considering the first trip that I took back in April 2011 had cost over $50 including taxes and fees.

Yes, this bus service goes all over the United States, Canada, and the UK. And its so cheap to travel. Compared to using KBL, the trip was cut down by at least 30 minutes. It landed me on FM 1960 & Hwy 6 instead of downtown.

I think though that whomever is going to be picking me up, I must consider that in relative proximity to where they are coming from. I wouldn’t want someone to drive all day long to get across the great city of Houston just to pick me up and drop me off. I would feel guilty inside.

But because its cheaper and faster, I think that this is a good thing. I cannot wait to use it again and again.

 

 

Comments
  1. blinkpack says:

    Josh here from the BlinkPack blog. I am a mega-fan of Megabus — looking forward to a January trip to New Orleans. I wish you all the best with your blogging. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

