Don’t Make Yourself A Target

Posted: December 16, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

begcat

“When we ask for love, we don’t ask others to be fair to us-but rather to care for us, to be considerate of us. There is a world of difference here between demanding justice… and begging or pleading for love.”~¬†Mortimer Adler

I guess some things are worth repeating.

People often times will be discouraged, stressed out, upset, pissed off and feel any other kind of negative emotion in between. And often times other people will cause those kinds of negative emotions.

There’s no better place for this kind of emotional activity to happen than social networking sites. I have frequently referred to them as parasites as a joke.

When I woke up this morning and I checked what was happening on Facebook, two beautiful and dear friends were upset and they had run the swift sword of deletion upon their Friends List. This was based on the fact that other people had upset them in one way or another. Details are not necessary.

So as they announced that they felt it was time to decimate their Friends List, what do you think happened??

As I have talked about before, scores of people decided to make comments as if they were backing up their friend. Then other scores of people begged not to be deleted. And even some few were asking if they were about to receive the ultimate chop.

I have come to the conclusion that if I am still able to read such announcing posts, then I am not one of the people in which they are talking about and are planning to delete. Therefore, I have nothing to worry about.

There is no need for me to be snooping around trying to find out if whether or not I am safe. Nor is there any reason for me to beg them not to delete me.

So I ask the following question to those who do this:

Why in the world are you making yourself a target????

These people are obviously hurt for whatever reason there is, and they are angry and sad and upset. So why then fuel their negative emotions by putting yourself out there to where you end up in their sight? Now you’ve become a target and that person begins to consider whether or not to delete YOU!

Therefore I will ask some more questions:

What have YOU done to make yourself feel anxious that these people are about to delete you? What transgression have you committed against them that is so terrible that now you are feeling that you are about to receive the cut?? And if there has been something that you have done, then why didn’t you go to that person privately and resolve the problem and apologize for it, if it was necessary?

Stop making yourself a target!! And especially if you have done nothing wrong!!!

I think that one thing does get overlooked.

Since this is a social networking site and all, and if you are connected with them because you actually do know them personally… wouldn’t it make sense for that person not to delete you but rather come to you if there’s a problem and have it discussed and then resolved? If you haven’t been the annoying person in real life and/or online, why would you think that you are about to be deleted? That person knows that if you are deleted that they will most likely have to deal with the uncomfortable situation of having to explain their actions in person. So they are not going to delete you for the simple fact that they either do not want to deal with that uncomfortable situation or actually has the courage and intelligence to come and talk to you personally about what is upsetting them.

I firmly believe that there are certain people that are supposed to be in your life. And some of them are meant to leave your life for whatever that reason may be. Not everyone is going to be the kind of person that you can say friends to the end. Others will be. But not all of the people that you know.

I recently had someone accept a friend request that I had sent some time ago, only to find that less than a week later they deleted me.

I wasn’t thrilled about it. But I didn’t go begging for them to add me back. Now I could send another friend request but I do not think that would be something that they are interested in. So they were only meant to be around for that amount of time. And I personally that it is THEIR loss.

Instead of crying over someone who actually has deleted you and you cannot convince them to add you back, one should just shift gears in thinking that the person that they are attempting to return is the one who is at a lost.

People aren’t perfect. They never have been, never will be.

It just drive me nuts that people are that silly to draw that much attention to themselves when an announcement is made that they are going to decimate their Friends List, because of one reason or another.

Just sit back and LAY LOW!!! They are probably just really upset and if you get in their way, you’re going to end up on the chopping block.

Don’t make yourself a target.

 

Leave a Reply

