The Change

Posted: January 14, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

GroupHugLg

“Don’t walk behind me; I may not lead. Don’t walk in front of me; I may not follow. Just walk beside me and be my friend.”~ Albert Camus

The thoughts of this came to me as I was coming home.

Even in my bummed out state that I was leaving Houston yet one more time, I was able to draw some positive feelings.

Now that I’ve been to so many SIX MINUTE CENTURY shows, I’ve definitely made some new connections. Garnished some new friendships, and strengthened those which I knew I already had.

But my point of view on going to the shows changed with the last show. And its for the good.

I’ve always enjoyed the fact that the band has never had this attitude of “we’re the band, you’re the fans.. you must worship us and our abilities”  crap, I mean its awful to think that bands out there have this sense of power and deserving.

The last show that I went to, I didn’t think that I was going to see this band or that band play live. But rather I thought of it as I was going to hang out with my friends.

Chuck, Don, Mikey, and Dr. Froth have become such an important part of my personal and social life. They along with their families and their friends.

So this last time, it was more of a sense that I was going to travel again to hang out with my friends, who just happen to play in a band AND who happen to be playing that night.

I probably should’ve had these kinds of feelings a very long time ago.  And I know that one of them is going to have the desire to smack me across my head once they read this. But for whatever reason this time, it really stuck!

All the awesome things that they have done when they are off the stage, has nothing to do with the fact that I am their #1 fan. But rather it comes from the fact that we all are friends. That is the awesome part of everything! They don’t share their news behind the scenes of what’s going on with the band both professionally and personally because I’m their greatest fan, but rather I am their friend.

Its a great feeling.

Leave a Reply

