A Charitable Shock To The Nervous System

Posted: March 4, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

dollarssix

“If you haven’t got any charity in your heart, you have the worst kind of heart trouble.”~ Bob Hope

So the final episode that I will write about this past weekend was the afternoon in which I was waiting to return home.

After seeing so many characters that were bonkers and insane, I just thought it best to keep to myself until I got home.

While I waited, a vehicle came rushing through the Shell gas station parking lot complete with squealing tires. The passenger door popped open and a small girl exited the vehicle. There was  gentleman driving, presumed by me to be her father.

I suspected that she had to use the restroom and so they stopped there. As she did so, she took all of the garbage out of the vehicle and threw it away. Both of her hands were full of trash that she had to nudge the car door shut with her foot.

As she walked away, the driver squealed off again and kept circling around the gas pumps before finally settling in on parking ILLEGALLY in the handicapped parking…. to which I was nearby. I wasn’t thrilled about that at all. But I’m not the law.

The guy rolled down his window and asked me if I wanted to listen to Springsteen. Again presuming here: Bruce Springsteen. So I nodded to him.

I halfway expected him to crank up the volume but he didn’t.

Several minutes passed and he sat there illegally parked before I noticed out of the corner of my eye that the girl had come out of the gas station and now had to walk over to where the vehicle was parked.

I paid no attention to it.

Then I heard this voice say “HI!” to me. It was the girl. She handed me a wad of cash.

I looked at the old man in the vehicle and he nodded and smiled. I took the cash from her hand and she said nothing else and walked away. When she was inside the vehicle, he offered a salutation and sped out of the parking lot and onto the streets like he was Don Johnson or something.

This blew my mind!

For those of you who believe in karma would probably believe that this guy really done good with this act of charity.

I sat there for much of the hour wondering WHY he did it. But that was never to be answered in this lifetime. I could speculate for the rest of my life as to why he made that decision to give me money.

The first thing that came to my mind as I watched his vehicle cruise down the street was I wondered if I looked like a panhandler. But I really did not. I thought I looked like someone who was traveling. Luggage bag in tow.

Over and over in my mind I kept wondering what just happened and why it happened. It all snapped out of my mind when little Miss Attitude arrived.

I didn’t receive a lot of money. But it was ENOUGH to do something with it. Still it sits here on the desk near the  computer… not sure what to do with it, if anything at all.

Comments
  1. That’s probably the guy that has your phone. 😉

Leave a Reply

