Tragedy At SXSW

Posted: March 13, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,
car-accident-sxsw-resized

The scene last night as it unfolded at SXSW.

Tragedy

Let’s get this out of the way. I know that it is still on the minds of everyone and I know that it caused a lot of people to contact me asking if I was okay or not when I woke up this morning.

SXSW Festival still plays on even though last night an alleged drunk driver was trying to evade police, smashed through a barricade that was separating traffic from hundreds of music lovers and other festival goers and ultimately this driver killed two people, injured more than twenty others before blasting into a taxi and then being tasered by officers as he tried to flee the scene.

Details are still all over the place as now I have heard three different versions in the past 12 hours of what exactly happened. I’ll leave that up for police to decide.

I am personally safe and sound. And I didn’t even know that this had happened until I woke up this morning. I had no clue that this tragic event took place.

Yes I have been visiting downtown Austin to see live music. Mainly to watch BEAUTIFUL DISTURBANCE, Poc Nation, Nancy Silva Project… and the rest of this week into the weekend I still plan on seeing BEAUTIFUL DISTURBANCE one final time Friday evening, Resisting Vegas on Saturday and CASKET OF CASSANDRA Sunday afternoon. I’ve been busy since Tuesday.

And the party don’t stop!!

Last night was when I went to the Heart of Texas Rock Fest to see Nancy Silva Project at the “big stage” off of 7th Street and Neches. I was going to write more about my battle with the evil and wicked 8th Street and I had more to talk about with other performances by BEAUTIFUL DISTURBANCE. But that’s going to have to wait until I am able to get this one posted. 

And what is really pulling at my heart this day is the fact that this took place at a venue called Mohawk located on Red River. And it is not that far from where hundreds of people are standing at Heart of Texas Rock Fest. map20

Let me give you an idea of how close this is and how this high speed chase could have been a lot more dangerous had it reached Heart of Texas Rock Fest areas.

Point A is the parking lot that right now holds the big stage.

Point B is the location of Mohawk.

It started at Mohawk and actually ended around 9th Street.

I was there before it got dark. And left promptly after Nancy Silva Project got off stage and I had photos taken with Nancy Silva.

I was actually off this map to the south and to the west on 4th Street and I boarded a city bus to return home sometime around 10:30 PM. This accident happened two hours later. Interstate 35 that runs through can be seen by the large orange line on the right side of the map.

So I am in fact safe. And I went out to Shiner’s Saloon this afternoon to watch BEAUTIFUL DISTURBANCE again. I am damned glad that I did too.

My prayers go to everyone hurt and/or involved in this tragedy that should have NEVER happened. A lot of emotions are still running high.

A band even sang a song today about a car crash and then deeply regretted it at Shiner’s Saloon.

But to think about all of this and put it into perspective, its scary to know that I was that close to tragedy and pain. And even death.

I did however needed to take the time to write this blog post and let those people who don’t know what is going on that I am okay and safe.

Thank you to everyone. And on a personal and different note, I am about to reach 120,000 total views on this blog. Thank you again to all!!!!

The show must go on.

Now on to my reviews and my crazy life.

 

Leave a Reply

