Voting In The Face Of Despair And Agony

Posted: March 21, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
1459129_10152054297499347_1751836692_n

Shannon D.

“If voting changed anything, they’d make it illegal.”~ Emma Goldman

Yesterday it was brought to my attention about this contest by People Magazine.

It is called “PEOPLE’s Real Beauty At Every Age.”

Contestants submit a photograph and then the general public votes.

And for once, this was a contest where voting was allowed that you did NOT have to sign up for anything. You weren’t going to be issued future spam by the contest holder. And it was free to vote.

And you were also allowed to vote as many times as you wanted.

I had seen contestants that had hundreds of thousands of votes.

From what I am understanding a winner will be chosen from each decade (20’s, 30’s, 40’s, 50’s etc.) by People Magazine and will be featured in a future issue.

The only reason why I know about it is because it was posted on Facebook and I went to see what the fuss was about.

This 31 year old woman named Shannon from Idaho Falls, Idaho was being featured in this Facebook post and come to find out that Shannon lives her life to help others every day and gives back to anyone that needs help. So selfless! And not to mention pretty.

But I was told “no flirting!” with her.

We were there to vote. And vote I did. In the 24+ hours that I knew that this contest existed I punched that button and clicked so many times that at last check she was over 9,000 votes.

Unfortunately this afternoon during a time of the day where this had actually slipped my mind that it was going on I had banged the side of my hand really hard against a table and its been throbbing and hurting ever since. Sadly its the same hand I use to control the computer mouse with. All the clicking and refreshing and voting came with a painful price.

But I kept on doing it.

As much as Shannon D. is selfless…. my voting through the agony of my arm hurting was my way of being selfless in return. I did stop and take a break when the pain was getting too bad. But when it would pass, I would go back and vote some more with the boring and tedious process of clicking and refreshing and then clicking again. Then repeating the process many times over.

Shannon thought that the voting ended at midnight Eastern time.. but I am still voting. So who knows when this is going to really end.

If you like what you see and wish to vote for this wonderful person then you can take your chances with the link provided below.

But be warned: I don’t know when they will close the voting. You don’t have to pay for anything or sign up for anything. Just click, vote, and hit refresh and vote as many time as you would like.

As for me and my hand and arm….. we’re defeated and I can no longer withstand the repetitive process any more.

I hope Shannon does well. She is at this point in the top 18 of all contests. I’d like to see her at least get to the top ten.

Vote for Shannon (if you can):

http://specials.people.com/realbeauty/?id=55506

Leave a Reply

