The D-Box Technology Experience

Posted: May 17, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

Godzilla-new1_zpse7e23e9a.jpgoriginal__140516214438-275x420

“It has become appallingly obvious that our technology has exceeded our humanity.” Albert Einstein

Yes. Finally! The opening day of the long awaited film by global fans (particularly Americans) of GODZILLA.

I know that for the United States of America, that it just opened officially yesterday and so many have not had the opportunity to see it yet, so I promise that I will not provide any spoilers in this blog post.

At least not intentionally.

But its not about the film necessarily. It is about the seats inside of the theater that I was in and the experiences that I went through WHILE watching Godzilla.

Now I have no idea where this came from but now there is something called D-Box technology in the theaters here.

But its not offered across the entire United States of America.

It is only in selected theaters at this moment in time, and I just happened to go to one of them last night when I went to see Godzilla.

There are 22 D-Box theater seats inside of the movie theater that I went to.

The theater with the most D-Box theater seats is located at Carmike Thousand Oaks 14 in Thousand Oaks, California and Carmike Rosemont 18 in Rosemont, Illinois with 36 D-Box theater seats each. Godzilla- 2D-BOX Technologies Movie Seats

As I settled in, there were already scores of movie goers inside the theater. For the smallest of moments I struggled with the decision of whether or not to stay in my wheelchair or transfer into one of the theater seats and attempt to get as comfortable as possible because Godzilla’s run time is over two hours.

I made the attempt of transferring smoothly. But Mr. Smooth was nowhere in the building. I am just thankful that I didn’t fall down on my face. The one thing that I had kept in mind is the possibility of hearing someone shout “You want some help?” … of which never happened. And strangely enough, I was okay with it. godzillaalaxy10

So as the film moved on, I noticed that the entire seat was shaking, vibrating, and rumbling every time some door got shut, or every time that Godzilla stomped, slammed, kicked, or even roared.

What the heck??

And it didn’t matter if Godzilla was doing something or not. If some other actor was punching his way through the crowds or whatever he was doing to make some kind of “impact” then the  seat would just go psycho!!

It was actually pretty cool. However, I am not really the movie goer any more. Not since theaters decided that greed was the best way to go.

Godzilla is only the third time I have been to the movie theater ever since 2009 when I went to see PUBLIC ENEMIES with Johnny Depp on the 4th of July.

Nonetheless, do some research to see where the nearest available D-Box theater seats are in your area. It definitely is a really awesome treat. Made the moving going experience a little better. Even though Godzilla just steals the show.

 

Comments
  1. The seats sound awesome! I want to see the movie too, but may not make it to the theatre for it. I love going to the movies still but does get a bit expensive with four of us going. 🙂

  2. Aussa Lorens says:

    Oh wow– that’s really interesting! I hadn’t even heard of that, hmmm…. I did see Godzilla when it came out. Pretty entertaining but I liked Act 1 more than the rest of it!

    • Dambreaker says:

      I was amazed that they got Me to give a damn about Act 1… and we ALL KNEW how it would end too!! And I STILL gave a damn. Then it was the guy’s turn for the rest of the film. So yeah, that makes sense. Now if I could have only gotten that little dwarf from spanking My ass from underneath the seat every time someone took a step in the movie.

Leave a Reply

