14 September 2014- One-Eyed Doll VIP After Show Acoustic Party

Posted: September 16, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
0A1

Kimberly Freeman of One-Eyed Doll allows me to take this photograph of her before getting started.

“Inside each of us, there is the seed of both good and evil. It’s a constant struggle as to which one will win. And one cannot exist without the other.”~ Eric Burdon

This is my 700th post. THANK YOU EVERYONE WHO READS AND CONTINUES TO STAY CONNECTED TO THE SAGA.

It was well into the night and well into the AM hours before the VIP After Show party officially was put into gear.

We had arrived at the secret location after 2:00 AM, closer to 3:00 AM and nobody could find One-Eyed Doll or know where they were.

It had been a very long time before both Junior and Kimberly had even shown up, much less sat down to begin playing and singing. The pre-orders of the VIP show had their choice of which song they wanted to hear being played acoustically.

But when Kimberly walked through the front door, she was giving everybody hugs. Or as she put it “I gotta get me my huggins in from everyone. Collect them hugs! Mmm!”

For me though, when you’ve realized that you are at a party that should have cost you $100 and it was free and the company that was being kept was entertaining (because I was able to keep them laughing while we waited) and your musical hostess actually in real life has hair that has grown beyond her ass, beyond classic length, and you are out of the house in the middle of the night….. life is great.

Considering that the musical portion didn’t start until closer to 5:00 AM, everyone seemed to be very alert and receptive to the sounds of the acoustical instruments and anything else that was performed.

I found myself constantly and continuously in a hug with Kimberly or in the very least with my arm around her and hers around me. Time and time again with the sharing of affection. I kept thinking that I was the newbie, the stranger in the room, and still she was just as loving towards me as she was towards anyone else?? 0A2

She had my colleague Robert and I towards the front which finally allowed me to see them perform. In fact, I had been placed right next to the  chair that Junior sat in as he played and accompanied Kimberly.

Again I was at the mercy of not knowing the songs that they sang with the exception of a couple…. that’s IF they played them at all!! Kimberly told the group that if they knew the words to sing along.

That would turn out to bite me in the ass later on.

I had one gentleman behind me stuck in the corner near the front door of the house.

You know the person in the crowd that always has something to say in between songs when they are not performing or singing and its always seeming like they are sucking up to the musician or artist or maybe just kissing ass? Or in the most harmless of ways … just adulating and they don’t know when to stop? Yeah, that was behind me. The whole night.

But One-Eyed Doll continued their musical journey with stories and tales of being on tour and how certain songs came along to be. It was like my very own personal band biography that nobody else got to hear if they didn’t buy VIP passes.

And that may or may not have been the point. One-Eyed Doll did mention that the VIP parties were the only true way that they could make money and have gas in the fuel tanks and food in their stomachs. Everything else, someone took some kind of cut or percentage. Even their merchandise table… someone was taking a cut from it. Made me not wanna buy any merchandise from anyone, but that’s not the answer. 0A3

Slowly but surely the night slipped away from everyone in the house. And people were slipping out the door. There were even people there who were at the house when we arrived and had left before One-Eyed Doll even showed up. Such a loss. One person actually split after they got set up to play. It was so weird.

People were beginning to fade and fall one by one by one.

The windows began to show signs of life, signs of light, and most importantly signs of the sun coming up.

It was bizarre. I cannot honestly tell you when the last time was that I went out for the night and came home when it turned light again. But it seemed apparent that this was going to be the  case as the show went on.

Another gentleman mentioned that he had faith that one day One-Eyed Doll was going to play at Madison Square Garden. They had been all over the country this tour and it was his dream for them that they would do so and in quick and short order. 0A4

I can only imagine what One-Eyed Doll was truly thinking when he said it. When I heard it, it sounded like it was full of hope and support.

How can you argue that???

It was nice emotional break for everyone I think. Everyone had been in almost a zombie-coma like state from listening to music and being so tired from being awake for so long.

Even One-Eyed Doll was showing signs of running out of gas at this point in time.

Everyone still remaining in the house had been going on for nearly 24 hours at this point and the acoustic show was far from over.

Kimberly did what she could to make things flow with entertainment throughout, knowing that everyone, including herself was so exhausted.

Nobody wanted to admit their fatigue though. In fact, people were surprised with themselves about how long they were able to last without showing physical signs of fatigue. Nobody appeared to be yawning profusely. Nobody was nodding off. Everyone was alert and still going.

Either the nostalgia took control or everyone was good at faking it.

0A5

Kimberly Freeman jumps into the group of people while singing “Committed.”

I suddenly was reminding myself of many things.

First of all, I wouldn’t have been there if it had not been the for the kindness of a guy by the name of Cory who gave me his second VIP pass that he bought and had nobody to go with him. I wouldn’t have made it to the house had it not been for the generous help of my brand new colleague Robert and his family. I wouldn’t have known about One-Eyed Doll had it not been for NANCY SILVA PROJECT to announce that they had a show in town finally and at last after six months of being away.

So I start at the top to thank Nancy Silva personally for being an important person in my life these last few months. I thank Junior of One-Eyed Doll for pointing Robert in my direction to connect with as another fan. And the willingness of him and his family to get me to the house of the party. And of course the sacrifice Cory gave as he handed me his other VIP pass for free.

Not having these people in place at the right time and I would not have stayed out all night long. I probably would have stayed long enough to watch NANCY SILVA PROJECT and then gone home and been back within the walls before the sun went down. Instead I was back within the walls as the sun had been up. It was like leaving the house and going out into the street just before high noon. Even though it was after 7:00 AM.

Robert and his family were interviewed and I stood back and watched. It was wonderful to watch them tell their stories. They almost came to tears telling it with great pride and joy. I hope that One-Eyed Doll appreciates their words.

And even though I was the newbie, I felt like I was surrounded by people who were like family. People who were caring. New people that crossed my path that one fateful night and remain in my thoughts and memories as they all traveled back to their homes across this great nation. To know that Dirty Dog Bar was packed with people like that and a huge percentage of them were not even from the state of Texas was mind blowing. Knowing that NANCY SILVA PROJECT got one hell of a crowd which meant exposure to them as well. I think I remember seeing ONE man who had a NSP t-shirt after the fact.

Throughout the whole night and into the VIP party, I still was wearing my NSP t-shirt. Representing during One-Eyed Doll. Come to find out that both bands are fond of one another in real life on a personal level and that’s great.

Hoping and believing that Kimberly got over her shock of receiving roses the evening before.

Due to the fact that my batteries were dead in my camera while waiting in line at the venue, I changed them before I got to the house party and I finally got my own photographs with Kimberly. Then we left the house.

The host of the party was outside with Junior talking and he asked if he could help in any way as I approached the ramp to go down. I said “Stand back and watch the magic.” Then I flew down that ramp and onto the walkway and all the way to the front gate where he met up with me and helped me to the vehicle.

I finally crawled through my front door after saying farewell to Robert and his family and looked at the clock. It said 7:40 AM.

Damn.

I posted all my photographs that I had on my camera from the evening onto Facebook and then got slapped with the article of Kanye West opening his mouth at a concert in Australia and shoving his foot down his throat farther than ever before. But that’s for another post. Depending on how mad I remain about the situation.

0.000127102_10

Kimberly Freeman Loves You

After posting photographs and ignoring Kanye West’s stupid ass, I finally went to sleep. But only got four hours of sleep. Then I suddenly had to be up and awake because I was babysitting my niece.

I hope that I get another shot at One-Eyed Doll. Kimberly finally put two and two together and realized who I was since we had some minor interactions on the Internet prior to the show. But almost too late. I found out later that Kimberly is just uber affectionate. She loves her hugs. Receiving and giving. It shows with as many as I had with her.

I think that I am going to go to her and tell her that I want to extend the hugs and call them “Kimberly Kuddles.” She’ll probably love the sound of it. But we’ll see.

Leave a Reply

