18 February 2015: The Tequila Rock Revolution at Stubb’s BBQ: Austin, TX

Posted: February 19, 2015 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

0000001

“I feel very proud to be an ambassador of Mexican music. Wherever I go, I will always bring my mariachi. It’s what I grew up with. It’s what I love the most.” Alejandro Fernandez

Finally. After my debut of seeing these bands play the same night and stage together, it was six months before it happened again.

The only difference is that VITERA and Mariachi Las Coronelas came and fused together to make The Tequila Rock Revolution. Combining Mariachi music with pure steady rock and roll.

They were playing at the all famous and infamous Stubb’s BBQ. A venue who has hosted such musical acts such as Blue October, Billy Idol, and They Might Be Giants. It a true Austin landmark. One that many people who are from out of town know about and make any excuse to visit to be able to scratch it off their bucket lists and boast that they’ve been there.

Well, now I have too.

However over the past six months, I’ve learned more about these bands and its members on a personal level through some sort of communication via social media. So I guess it was more personal for me to be there rather than fanatical. People would have known me when I stepped in.

As the time drew closer and closer, I was getting more and more amped up to get there. And then I realized that while I was getting ready that I could not find my camera. I’m notorious for having it. I’ve been told so.

In a small and brief few moments of pure frustration, I tore apart my apartment pretty damned good in order to find it. It’s still in disarray even though I did clear the path to the front door so I can get in and out. OOPS!!!

When the camera was found, I tucked it away and bolted out the door to go wait on the bus. But now bus rides are twenty-five cents more since mid-January. And they’ve become more interesting as I have been starting to “get used to” being terminated and kicked off the bus. Same bus line, same destinations, everything. Different drivers. However, I will leave that for another time and another post if you want to hear all about that.

I cautiously boarded the bus and realized that I was missing a dime when I should have had exact change. Buses only take exact change. I got fortunate that the bus driver had changed for a dollar for me to replace that missing dime. I was in his debt in a sense. Not a good start to a potentially awkward situation if I was going to be kicked off the bus for a third time in a row.

But we took off and we hadn’t gone a mile and a half down the road and the bus driver was cracking me up so hard that I couldn’t stop sweating. Everything out of his mouth was pure comedy fricking gold and his impressions were stellar.

Thankfully he would not be the only stellar thing that happened.

I had a feeling that I didn’t even need to bring along my earphones to keep me occupied and entertained for the long journey. And I was right. The bus driver and I kept going back and forth and back and forth. Probably there were six other people on board at the very max at one given time. It wasn’t crowded or anything and I just kept talking and listening to him.

The next thing I knew, we were passing by the hospital and that was my cue to start paying attention to make sure that I notify the driver exactly where I needed to get off the bus.

The bus driver busted me up again when he said: “Oh I’m sorry that I kept you from your nap. Shit!”

The guy started to like me, and I him. He encouraged me to take the Night Owl bus lines on the trip home, because there was a 50/50 chance I’d be picked up by him again.

I got off the bus and I just hauled ass towards Stubb’s BBQ. And as expected I showed up just a bit too early. Doors weren’t open and there was a huge fricking line waiting to get inside that wrapped all the way up north around the block. I just knew that I was screwed.

It would come to be known later that the show was SOLD OUT.

I totally forgot to take a photograph of the marquis sign outside. It was looking nice.

But I slowly made my way closer to the front door and with reticence approached the line, trying to figure out which end was which. Then some “guy with a clipboard” came roaring outside, wristbands in the other hand. He was checking people in line who already had tickets. Hoping to make things smoother when they opened up the doors to separate those who had tickets purchased in advance versus people looking to buy them at the door.

I flashed my printed off receipt and showed it to the gentleman. He checked it and then asked if I wanted to be upstairs or downstairs. I said that I wanted to be next to the stage and without missing a beat he turned around and told me to follow him and he led me inside of Stubb’s BBQ. I heard the awful and very profane snarls and grunts of discontentment of those left outside standing in line.

I don’t normally do this, but I turned quickly back around and shouted “I’m with the damned band!” And then ran like hell to get inside. I did get away with it. But I probably won’t every time I do it. So it would definitely behoove me to stop while I’m ahead.

I was lead through a path that was twisting and turning at every corner. Then an elevator of old school proportions lowered me to the the lower level and I found myself in the room that was holding all the merchandise tables for both musical acts.

Right away, I was recognized by members of The Tequila Rock Revolution… by name!

I must have made a mark with them or something.

After that, I went and I stood my ground and picked out a spot where I was going to be for the duration of the entire show. By the looks of the line that I totally passed by outside, it was definitely going to be crowded with tons of people and if I moved away like I did during One-Eyed Doll, I knew that I would lose my spot. So I clamped down and refused to budge.. regardless of how many careless people bumped into me or spilled their drinks down my back.

I was then reunited with a person that I met at the first show six months prior. She looked amazing. She had a different friend with her and we kind of stuck together during the show.

Adding VITERA to members of Mariachi Las Coronelas was an stroke of musical excellence. There was an added trumpet player as well. With him and Vanessa Del Fierro aka Mariachi Doll, and Stacey Mazuca from Mariachi Las Coronelas, the entire set was rocking and getting on board the crazy train before the end of the first song.

stgas

Haydn Vitera & Vanessa Del Fierro

I heard someone behind me screaming “Hang on for dear life!” and I looked to see what was going on and if I needed to be concerned about it. They were simply talking about the show. The crowd was deafening with its applause. And again, after ONE song.

I often get lost and forget about all of Haydn Vitera’s huge musical talents. I know he plays guitar and he has that magical invention of the electric violin that everyone gasps in awe for. But sitting just about directly before his feet I could hear his voice carry from his mouth as it carried into the microphone. But for me, I didn’t really need the microphone to help hear him. I could hear him clear as day.

Haydn Vitera has the kind of vocal quality and clarity that I would almost kill to have. And I often forget about that. Every time he stepped back up to the microphone, he nailed everything that came out of him.

Dan “DMFC” Corona shredding guitar and a supreme job on bass with Nacio Malo. Everything came together like it was made to be.

Naturally the incredibly beautiful and extreme talents of Stacey Mazuca on guitar and Mariachi Doll on violin. They both helped out one another, playing each other’s songs on stage. Mariachi Doll is currently in the studio. And from what I heard, I’m going to be rushing and running over people who are in my way to go buy the album.

I cannot count how many times that it got so loud and noisy without the crowd even being prompted. Especially during applause at the end of a song.

I honestly hope and believe in these people. I truly want for them to be able to reach out and touch the universe. One person at a time.

From south to north and west to east and back again. Across the oceans and time, The Tequila Rock Revolution is a sound that you have NEVER heard before. I guarantee it. And once you do…. you’ll be left to hear so much, much more.

Can you handle both talent AND beauty?? If you think you can, reach out to find The Tequila Rock Revolution today!!!!!!!!!!!

 

https://www.facebook.com/tequilarockrevolution

Leave a Reply

