22 March 2015: One-Eyed Doll VIP Party

Posted: March 23, 2015 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

one_eyed_doll_witches_cover_updated_use_this

“If I go to a concert or sporting event I usually go in a VIP entrance. And leave the same way.”~ Fran Drescher

The after show meet and greets ran a bit too long with fans. The hour was getting late and “Junior” had to steal away Kimberly Freeman from the fans so that she could prepare for the VIP Party. Change clothes, get comfortable, etc.

The VIP Access on this tour has been limited to only ten people in each city during the tour.

I thought that for sure it would be sold out before I even had an opportunity to save up the money for it. But I would be proven wrong and then very wrong about it.

Weeks before the tour even began, One-Eyed Doll was holding this contest giveaway on their Facebook page. Take a photograph of yourself with your show ticket and win a chance to get a FREE t-shirt.

Well, there was a problem with that. Amusing and curious as it was. Heart of Texas Rockfest … is FREE!! There are no tickets.

So when I inquired, Junior said to show your VIP pass instead of your ticket. So I jumped on board, bought one, and waited. The thing damn near came too late as the contest would be over when the tour started. I took a photograph of me with the VIP pass. And that was about it.

Good one, Junior! You got me there!! Come back over here, I wanna show you this stick I found.

I digress, and I kid.

Kimberly Freeman sat on the back of the stage behind where all the action happened. She then turned around and leaned over the edge, telling me that she was going to crowd surf over to me. And she did.

She’s become very comfortable with me. And I am glad of that.

Also, she has maintained her quirky sense of humor. It is great.

I mentioned again that I was impressed that she remembered my name. I also mentioned that I had been a fan of One-Eyed Doll for only the past nine months, and this was my second show and second VIP in six months. I then rhetorically asked her “Where’s my One-Eyed Doll baby? It should be born by now.”

Kimberly mentioned that it was born in the shape of Mexican food and it had since umm… passed. I then leaned down and kissed her on the general waist and stomach area, as if a father was kissing his unborn child in the womb. And then I was reminded of the lyrics to their song “Brief Candle”

War story, thing of the past
Innocence was not made to last
All that remains of him 
Is a child inside of me 

Did I bring this up though jokingly? No……. what an idiot. I had an opening and didn’t take it.

Freeman took it all in stride even without the humorous reference to the “Brief Candle” song. I figured I’d be clobbered for giving her general lower belly area a smooch. Yet again, proven wrong was I.

However we kept getting chased all over the place. The VIP was not going to leave the parking lot in which Heart of Texas Rockfest was held all week. But we kept going from one side of the parking lot to the other, just trying to get away from usual traffic noises and the pestering sounds of other patrons walking around. witches-1500px-300dpi-cmyk8-e1421741261725

I cannot say exactly what happened next. That’s is just something you are going to have to experience for yourself as One-Eyed Doll tours the rest of the country through May. If you get the VIP pass, you’ll find out for sure on just how it was that I came to be a part of their new and upcoming record. And if you get the VIP pass, you just might be on the new record too.

It reminded me of the time I went to Houston to record some parts for the GATHERED IN DARKNESS album, by Dr. Froth. So that makes two records in just under a year.

Then things were interrupted yet again and it pretty much broke the mood of the gathering. Personally, it irritated the hell out of me. We could have gone on and on for much longer until that last interruption. But what can you do?!??

So then One-Eyed Doll offered to take photographs with the attendees of the VIP in front of an artist mural that was painted on a wall for Heart of Texas Rockfest last year. It was a nice fit.

Then Kimberly asked if I was going to be okay getting home, and I attempted my best to reassure her that I would be more than fine.

I took a photograph with Junior. But when I got home, I realized that Kimberly and another fan totally photobombed the moment. The look on Kimberly’s face and the expression in her eyes however, is totally scary and creepy.

Then I took several photographs with Kimberly.

I said to her “Please have a seat.”

Kimberly then proceeded to gently sit down upon my lap and then grabbed a hold of me with all the tightness and love that she could give. And I held on to her so she didn’t fall on the ground and bust her ass. The last thing you need is a rock star with a busted ass on tour!!!

It was not as late in the hour of the day to return home as it had been the first time, but it was late enough.

After all of that I had been awake for 20 hours, been sitting in my wheelchair unmoved for 18 hours. I was hurting pretty bad.

I left to return home…. reluctantly.

Leave a Reply

