Paper Bag Activity

Posted: March 23, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

“Half of being smart is knowing what you are dumb about.”~ Solomon Short
 

DO NOT TRY THIS AT HOME!

 
Earlier this afternoon, I was waiting on my physical therapist to stop by and I decided to occupy myself with a bit of light house cleaning.
 
I found this very small brown paper bag just laying there on the desk and I picked it up. From there, I blew it up and then I popped it.
 
The echo of the POP filled my ears to the point that the only way I can describe it was a “sting” for about a second and a half.
 
Only seconds went by when there was a knock on my door.
 
A neighbor came to check to see if I had been wounded because they thought they heard a gun shot.
 
There’s no carpets in my home, so the sound carried for sure. But they thought that someone was in here that shouldn’t have been.
 
I explained that there was nobody else in here but me and they didn’t seem to buy it at first. But they soon left.
 
Five minutes later, there was a VERY LOUD knock on the door and a shout on the other side.
 
The police department came over, guns drawn, and asked me for indentification. They entered my home and looked around with their weapons in the air. I was removed from my home and questioned.
 
I was asked questions like, “Do you own a gun?”, “Have you lately been in a domestic dispute within my home?”. Then flat out… “Did you fire a gun at all today?”.
 
When they found the brown paper bag in the trash with a hole in the bottom, they figured out what had happened. They questioned me whether or not I popped a brown paper bag, and I told them that I had.
 
At the point when they allowed me to enter my home again, I clapped and allowed them to hear the great boost in acoustics. The law enforcement officers shook their head, cautioned me about doing it again and then wished me a good night.
 
As needless as it was for them to be here, it was in fact a good idea that someone called. Just in case it MIGHT have been an actual gun being fired.
 
But in this case, it was just a simple brown paper bag meeting its ultimate end.

Leave a comment